Hooray I can walk – Living with Aortic Dissection

7H33 Aorta Dissektion

A good day I can walk up to 5 kilometers (3.1 miles).  It takes around 2 hours. Doing this I feel good, alive, strong, and I feel independent. This was my dream when I started to train my way back after having had surgery for my acute aortic dissection type a. I took me almost one year after surgery before I for the first time made the full 5 kilometers.

A normal day I walk around 3,5 kilometers.  (2,2 miles). That usually takes around 1,5 hours.

Going uphill is hard. Two different things make it tough. One is that the new surgically crafted heart valves are leaking, not too much, but still. The second is my medications and pacemaker that combined with a nonfunctioning sinoatrial node keeps my pulse at a steady low-level of around 70 bpm even when it would need to raise in pace…

View original post 544 fler ord

Kommentera

